Fangirling Over P&P

Adventures in Reading: Books for Fans of Pride and Prejudice
Adventures in Reading: Books for Fans of Pride and Prejudice

Who else LOVES Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen? It is my all-time favorite novel.  I would guess that I have read it at least 20 times.

Fun Fact: I once suggested using Austen as a baby name for our son as a subtle shout out to my favorite author, but alas, my husband was not on board with that as a baby name.

If you love all things P&P as I do, you may enjoy these fanfiction books as I do.

         

      

This post contains Amazon affiliate links*

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet: A Novel (Lizzie Bennet Diaries)

By Bernie Su and Kate Rorick

This is a really fun modern day adaptation of the original P&P storyline. (Also, check out their award-winning youtube series at https://www.youtube.com/user/LizzieBennet. )

Longbourn

By Jo Baker

You know the story from the Bennet family’s point of view, now read the storylines happening behind the scenes amongst the servants of Longbourn. I have heard rumors that they are turning this book into a movie. *fingers crossed*

Bridget Jones’s Diary: A Novel 

By Helen Fielding

I’ve read the book and watched the movie. The book has the most direct correlations to the original Pride and Prejudice story, but personally, I enjoyed the movie much more. If I were you, I would skip the book completely and just watch Colin Firth the movie.

Eligible: A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice

By Curtis Sittenfeld

I was thrilled to learn that one of my favorite authors had written a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and her surprising modern twists.  In fact, I may have to add this book to my Christmas wish list for this year so that I can reread it from time to time. (Husband of mine, please take note of this gift idea!)

An Assembly Such as This: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman

By Pamela Aidan

For all of you who wished you could know what Darcy was thinking, here is your opportunity.  The entire story is told from Darcy’s point of view.

Austenland: A Novel

By Shannon Hale

This is a fun little piece of fan fiction by the talented author, Shannon Hale.  The story follows a Janeite (named Jane, by the way) from New York who travels halfway across the world in order to immerse herself into the P&P world. There is also a movie based on this book, and it was also pretty cute.

Cozy Classics: Pride & Prejudice

By Jack Wang

Ready to introduce the little ones to your favorite novel? My little girl and I love this board book version! So adorable!

 

Side Note about Movies: Which did you think was better – the 2005 movie starring Keira Knightley or the A&E miniseries starring Colin Firth?  Personally, I liked the miniseries better.  It stays very true to the original story, and I am quite partial to Colin Firth playing the role of Darcy.  However, if you don’t have time (5 hours!!!) to watch the entire miniseries, the 2005 movie makes a pretty decent substitute.

What are your favorite books and/or movies related to Pride and Prejudice?

Shop From This Post:

All opinions stated are my own.

*Please note that I am part of the Amazon Affiliate Network. If you make a purchase through one of my links, I will receive a small commission (at no additional cost to you).

Please Share Your Thoughts